Tags

,

TOW – 4

As someone who enjoys variety and trying new things, I simply can’t wait to start a career in Public Relations. This field is so unique because it spans across all disciplines. There are opportunities to become more specialized in one area, or to keep things generalized.

Another aspect that draws me to Public Relations is the connections I will make with people of all walks of life. I enjoy learning about and connecting with new cultures. Advances in technology have made our world a ‘global village’ of sorts. I know I will meet and work with people from all over the world!

Case studies in Public Relations has offered many great takeaways I will use going forward:

  • Time management – It is of utmost importance, it will make or break relationships and client accounts.
  • Objectives – Clear objectives support the all other elements of a communications plan. They must be simple and measurable to facilitate success.
  • Audiences – Knowing your audience is essential. Without it, the message is apt to fail.
  • Advertising DOES NOT EQUAL Public Relations. (Had to make mention of this as we went over it lots!)

The courses I have taken this year have given me a good foundation to be an effective communicator. I am anxious to contribute to the workforce!

TOW – 3: Will it Blend? Blend, it will.

Prior to reviewing this case, had someone told me with the mere budget of $50.00 one was able to boost sales by 700%, I would have laughed. I would have wondered what type of highly dangerous magic tricks were involved and how I could replicate them in order to eradicate my student loans. Alright, I am kidding. Almost.

Blendtec‘s highly successful ‘Will it Blend’ campaign both peaked my interest and offered great takeaways from a Public Relations standpoint. Who does not want to see everyday items blended to smithereens? Check out my personal favourite, ‘Will it Blend – iPad’

I especially love the call to action for people to request items to feature in future videos!

Learning wise, this campaign shows us that brands can develop unique, creative and cost effective ways to engage an audience. Blendtec’s concept was extremely simple and humorous. CEO, Tom Dickson brings an otherwise boring topic to life!

Everything has a story. It’s about coming at it from an angle that helps others connect with it in some way.

TOW – 2 

Occupy Wall Street was not a PR failure, but its message has certainly become more difficult to sustain. This movement garnished astounding media coverage in its infancy and its message was clear: people were fed up with inequalities, income or otherwise. This message is powerful, but has become somewhat hard to follow. This message applies to issues worldwide – there are ‘occupy’ movements for various issues (The Occupied Wall Street Journal has all the updates). The overall message lacks a clear direction as to how it can and will come to fruition. There doesn’t seem to be strong leadership.

Equality is very important. Unfortunately inequality spans over countless issues and affects everyone one way or another. The overall goal of this movement is to improve inequality issues…wouldn’t that be better achieved by choosing fewer issues to lobby for at a time? Bite off what you can chew and go back for seconds! In order to see actual political change, a narrower focus needs to be taken. This would entail outlining key goals and measurable objectives, followed by a specific marketing and communications plan that would support these efforts. Perhaps the various inequality topics could be represented by individual groups that belonged to an ‘Occupy Wall Street Association’. Each subgroup would represent an issue that most interests them. They would all form an organized coalition under the Occupy Wall Street umbrella. Their business model may look similar to that of the United Food & Commercial Workers International Union, a cluster of various groups campaigning to Make Changes at Wal-Mart world-wide.

In order for the Occupy Wall Street Movement to continue to grow, and make changes to legislation, stronger leadership with much better/clearer organization needs to be implemented. That way the message won’t get drowned out by all the noise!

TOW – 1

1) I did not avidly follow golfer Tiger Woods prior to his sex addiction scandal, but I always thought he was a classy guy. This may in part be due to my perceptions of  the sport in general. I worked at a golf and country club over a summer and learned quite a bit. Golfers tend to be early risers and sharp dressers. Their shoes are polished, their shorts are pressed. On-lookers applaud politely at tournaments and caddies help players move efficiently through the course. The game itself requires critical thinking, concentration and good athletic ability. Tiger Woods was the envy of all those in the golf world. He was at the top of his game, winning world tournaments and greatly benefiting by various sponsors. He had a beautiful wife and two children. Once his scandal broke, his wife, sponsors and affiliates ran for the hills. No one could distance themselves fast enough from this sex crazed man. Needless to say I no longer think of Tiger as classy at all. (Check out his interesting ‘apology’ here. Undoubtedly written by his PR professional.)

2) I have always been a goal orientated individual. I have also always had an interest in sports and fitness. I was fortunate to grow up in a very active family and have been involved in sports all my life. From spearheading my high school’s first-ever girls rugby team, coaching young children diving and training for a half-marathon I LOVE physical activity. I am extremely interested in learning more about diet with proper nutrition and exercise with proper form. I was seeking out another fitness related goal and came across Andrea Smith’s Get Ready Girls Program. I know a few girls that have taken her bootcamps. I love her core concept of instilling commitment, consistency and confidence in young women. A mix of testimonials, strong online presence and her credentials persuaded me to enrol in her competitive program.

3) Capital punishment is something I’ve always thought that I believed in. When someone takes a life why should taxpayers support them in prison? Why should they ever be able to be rehabilitated into society? Capital punishment was a a black and white issue for me, that is until the case of David Milgaard who spent 23 years in prison for a crime he did not commit. With advances in technology, DNA testing was greatly improved since his sentencing. (Here is a brief synopsis of his case.)

